Saturday, October 22, 2016

World Mobile Learning Conference in Sydney Monday

The 15th World Conference on Mobile and Contextual Learning (mLearn 2016), starts at University of Technology in Sydney, this Monday 24 October. There are five parallel sessions, so I have selected from the MLearn2016 Program those which look most interesting to me:

Monday 24 October

  • 9:02-9:15 Acknowledgement of Country and Welcome to mLearn2016: Associate Professor Wan Ng (Conference Chair) & Welcome to UTS: Professor Shirley Alexander (Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Education and Students))
  • 9:15-10:15 KEYNOTE: Constructing Experience, Mark Pesce. Chair: Associate Professor Wan Ng
  • Session 1 10:45-11:25 (40 mins) Mobile Learning as a Tool for Indigenous Language Revitalization and Sustainability in Canada: Who will the pipe holders be? Marguerite Koole & Kevin wâsakâyâsiw Lewis
  • Session 2 11:30-12:10 (40 mins) A Theory of Enhancement of Professional Learning for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Pre-service Teachers in Very Remote Communities through Mobile Learning, Philip Townsend
  • Session 3 12:15-12:40 (25 mins) PANEL: Indigenous People & Mobile Learning. Laurel Evelyn Dyson, Marguerite Koole, Kevin wâsakâyâsiw Lewis, Suzaan Le Roux & Philip Townsend 
  • Session 4 1:30-2:10 (40 mins) Enterprise-Wide Systems, Chair: Matthew Burle. Building a Campus-Wide Mobile Platform that Focuses on Enhancing Student Effectiveness and Learning, Alexander Roche, Anthony Chung & John Reddin
  • Session 5 2:15-2:55 (40 mins) How does a Mobile Platform Address TEQSA and Other Regulatory Compliance for Online Courses? Alexander Roche, Josephine Chan, Anthony Chung & Matthew Burley
  • Session 6 3:00-3:25 (25 mins) WORKSHOP: The Handbook of Mobile Teaching and Learning & Future Possibilities, Aimee Zhang & Dean Cristol
  • Session 7 3:55-4:20 (25 mins)  WORKSHOP (Continued)
  • Session 8 4:25-4:50 (25 mins) WORKSHOP (Continued)
  • 5:00-6:30 IAmLearn AGM
  • 6:30-7:30 Reception

Tuesday 25 October

  • 9:00-10:00 KEYNOTE: Personalised Learning, mEducation and Partnerships, Susi Steigler-Peters (Telstra Corporation), Chair: Associate Professor Matthew Kearney
  • 10:30-12:30 Session 1 & 2 (Practitioner Presentations) (40 mins each): Negotiating Cultural Spaces in an International Mobile and Blended Learning Project. Charlotte N: Gunawardena, Agnieszka Palalas, Nicole Berezin, Caitlin Legere, Gretchen Kramer & Godwin Amo-Kwao
  • Landscape and Literacy on Aboriginal Country: Teaching Indigenous Australian Studies in a Cross-Cultural M-Learning Context, Olivia Guntarik & Aramiha Harwood
    Mobile Learning in Practical-Based Subjects: A Developing, Country Perspective, Suzaan Le Roux
  • Session 3 2:00-3:00 (Practitioner Presentations). Higher Education Practice
    Using a mobile Moodle app in an online physics course,
    Elizabeth Angstmann
  • Session 4 3:20-4:20 (Practitioner Presentations) (60 mins). Teacher Education
    Sustaining Mobile Learning Pedagogies with High Possibility Classrooms: A Vision for Teacher Education in Australian Universities
    , Jane Hunter & Ariane Skapetis
  • Session 5 4:20-5:20 (Practitioner Presentations) (60 mins). Professional Development Accepting the Challenge of Adapting Traditional Faculty Development to Online and Mobile Environments, Lisa O’Neill
  • CONFERENCE DINNER CRUISE, Boarding: 19:00, Departure: 19:30; Returns: 22:00

Wednesday 26 October

  • 9:00-10:00 KEYNOTE: The Role of Education in Identity Transformation and Acculturation, Professor John Traxler (University of Wolverhampton), Chair: Dr Laurel Evelyn Dyson
  • Session 1 10:35-11:00 (25 mins) Workplace Learning Chair: Lisa O’Neill: Learning Official Crisis Communication through Decentralized Simulations enabled by Mobile ICTs, Hanna Vuojärvi & Tuulikki Keskitalo
  • Session 2 11:05-11:45 (40 mins) Encouraging Faculty Development Through Micro-Credentialing, Lisa O’Neill
  • Session 3 11:50-12:30 (40 mins) Flipped Learning Approach for a University EFL Course: Utilizing an Online Communication System, Yasushige Ishikawa, Yasushi Tsubota, Craig Smith, Masayuki Murakami, Mutsumi Kondo, Ayako Suto, Koichi Nishiyama & Motoki
  • Session 4 1:15-1:55 (40 mins) Digital Citizenship, Chair: Boris Handal: Teaching Digital Citizenship in Higher Education, Boris Handal, Sandra Lynch, Kevin Watson, Marguerite Maher & Grace Hellyer
  • Session 5 2:00-2:40 (40 mins) Using Offline Personal Devices to Enable Access to Higher Education in Prisons, Helen Farley, Louise Patching, John Macdonald, Kyle Murphy, Jared Wright, Christopher Lee, Stephen Seymour
  • 2:45-3:15 Closing Ceremony: Chairs: Dr Laurel Evelyn Dyson (Program Chair) and Dr Agnieska Palalas (IAmLearn President), Best Full Paper Award and Best Poster Award

No comments:

Post a Comment