Thursday, July 1, 2021

New Teaching Skills Standards Defined

Work is underway on Version 8 of SFIA (now in Beta), which proposes new skills for Certification Scheme Operation and Subject formation. The Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA) is a set of skills definitions for computer professionals. This is used in Australia by the Australian Computer Society, and some government agencies, to categorize the skills professionals have, and those they need for a job. While mostly about technical skills and the management of projects, there is a set of education skills described as "Skills management", for those who teach computing. 

New Skills management Skills 

It might be argued that running a certification scheme is much like running any education so comes under the existing skills definitions. But there are some differences, for example in Australia how a vocational institution does assessment (which is more like certification) versus a university. The vocational sector is more interested in of the applicant has the required level of skills and knowledge, not how they got them, or how well they do them. Similarly, Subject formation might be seen as part of the existing Learning design and development, but it appears to be intended to apply at a higher level, rather than the details of a particular lesson.

The Skills management skill in SFIA Version 8 (Beta) has:

  1. Learning and development management (ETMG) 3 4 5 6 7
  2. Learning design and development (TMCR) 3 4 5
  3. Learning delivery (ETDL) 2 3 4 5
  4. Competency assessment (LEDA) 3 4 5 6
  5. Certification Scheme Operation - new (CSOP) 2 3 4 5 6
  6. Teaching - restructured (TEAC) 2 3 4 5 6 7
  7. Subject formation -new (SUBF) 4 5 6 7
The codes in brackets are used for referencing the skill (there are hundreds of these codes). The numbers are the level the skill is defined at, from 1 low, to 7 high.

No comments:

Post a Comment