Monday, December 5, 2016

Training Tech Professionals to Teach: Part 3, Vocational Education and Training

In Part 2' I looked at what  standards professional bodies have for IT teaching. The Australian Vocational Education and Training (VET) sector also has a carefully thought out set of teaching qualifications underpinning the way training is provided. The Companion volume implementation guide for TAE Training and Education Training Package (Release 2.0, April 2016), provides details.

Unpinning the VET system is the Certificate IV in Training and Assessment (TAE40116), which a VET teacher will most commonly have. Above this are the Diploma of Vocational Education and Training (TAE50116 ), Diploma of Training Design and Development (TAE50216) and the Graduate Certificate in Digital Education (TAE80316).

The Cert IV is intended for both VET and Enterprise Trainers and Assessors,  the Diploma  for VET Trainers and Assessors, and the Grad Cert  is intended for Tertiary, secondary and primary teachers. The Dip TDD, is intended for  Instructional Designers in all sectors.

The Cert IV, Dip TDD and Grad Cert appear most applicable to IT professionals.

Some of the Units of Competency which make up the qualifications involve IT related skills:

TAEASS801 Analyse, implement and evaluate e-assessment
TAEDEL403 Coordinate and facilitate distance-based learning
TAEDEL501 Facilitate e-learning
TAEDEL801 Evaluate, implement and use ICT-based educational platforms
TAEDEL802 Use e-learning with social media
TAEDES503 Design and develop e-learning resources
TAELED801 Design pedagogy for e-learning
TAELED802 Investigate the application of ICT content knowledge
TAELED804 Review enterprise e-learning systems and solutions implementation
ICTICT805 Direct ICT procurement

The number of institutions offering these qualification drops off sharply as the level increases: Cert IV T&A (643),  Dip VET (140), Dip TD & D (115) and the Grad Cert DE (8).

No comments:

Post a Comment