Thursday, October 3, 2013

Profile of Australian Universities

LH Martin Institute and the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER) released the report "Profiling diversity of Australian universities", 3 June 2013. This places universities into one of six groups, based on five dimensions. One interesting finding is that RMIT is different to all other Australian universities and thus has a group to itself. The next smallest group are three  smaller research intensive universities in smaller state capitals, which groups UWA, with the University of Adelaide
and ANU. One point this raises is to what extent Australia needs all these separate universities, if most are doing essentially the same thing. Also it would be interesting to extend the analysis internationally.

The Five Dimensions:

  1. Teaching and Learning;
  2. Student Profile;
  3. Research Involvement;
  4. Knowledge Exchange; and
  5. International Orientation.

The Six Groups of Universities:

  1. Regional Universities
  2. Mixed Group 1
  3. Mixed Group 2
  4. Large Research Intensive Universities in Larger Capital Cities
  5. Small Research Intensive Universities in Smaller Capital Cities
  6. RMIT University

Group 1 universities 

Charles Sturt University
Southern Cross University
University of Ballarat
Central Queensland University
University of Southern Queensland
Charles Darwin University

Group 2 Universities

University of Western Sydney
James Cook University
Griffith University
Flinders University
La Trobe University
The University of Newcastle
Murdoch University
University of Technology Sydney
University of Wollongong
Macquarie University
The University of New England
University of Tasmania
Curtin University of Technology
Queensland University
of Technology
Deakin University
University of
South Australia

Group 3 universities

Swinburne University of Technology University of Canberra
Victoria University Australian Catholic University
Edith Cowan University University of the Sunshine Coast

Group 4 universities

The University of Sydney
The University of New South Wales
Monash University
The University of Melbourne
The University of Queensland

Group 5 universities

The University of Western Australia
The University of Adelaide
The Australian National University

Group 6 university

RMIT University

No comments:

Post a Comment