Friday, July 26, 2013

Higher Education Academy Professional Recognition Scheme

The UK based Higher Education Academy (HEA) runs the HEA Professional Recognition Scheme. This is intended to lift the professionalism of university teaching. The scheme is aligned to the UK Professional Standards Framework (UKPSF). There are four levels of recognition (and typical job descriptions):
  1. AFHEA – Associate Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (Graduate Teaching Assistant)
  2. FHEA – Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (Lecturer)
  3. SFHEA - Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (academic leader or middle management)
  4. PFHEA – Principal Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (senior leader)
The HEA is promoting their scheme internationally, with the Australian National University the first Australian subscribing institution. The HEA is more general than the Certified Membership Scheme run by UK Association for Learning Technology (ALT), which was also extended to Australia last year. The way the HEAPRS/UKPSF is structured is similar to schemes run for other professions, such as ACS CP/IP3/SFIA for computer professionals.

UK Professional Standards Framework

The UK Professional Standards Framework (UKPSF) consists of:


An Introduction.


Four categories of level of teaching responsibility, corresponding to the four levels of HEA recognition:
  1. Associate
  2. Fellow
  3. Senior Fellow
  4. Principal Fellow

Dimensions of Practice 

Three dimensions of practice:
  1. Areas of activity:
    1. Design and plan learning activities and/or programmes of study
    2. Teach and/or support learning
    3. Assess and give feedback to learners
    4. Develop effective learning environments and approaches to student support and guidance
    5. Engage in continuing professional development in subjects/disciplines and their pedagogy, incorporating research, scholarship and the evaluation of professional practices
  2. Aspects of Core knowledge:
    1. The subject material
    2. Appropriate methods for teaching and learning in the subject area and at the level of the academic programme
    3. How students learn, both generally and within their subject/disciplinary area(s)  
    4. The use and value of appropriate learning technologies
    5. Methods for evaluating the effectiveness of teaching
    6. The implications of quality assurance and quality enhancement for academic and professional practice with a particular focus on teaching
  3. Professional values:
    1. Respect individual learners and diverse learning communities   
    2. Promote participation in higher education and equality of opportunity for learners
    3. Use evidence-informed approaches and the outcomes from research, scholarship and continuing professional development
    4. Acknowledge the wider context in which higher education operates recognising the implications for professional practice

No comments:

Post a Comment