Saturday, September 8, 2018

Training Tech Professionals to Teach: Part 11

In Part 10 I looked at having three micro-credentials on teaching, which taken consecutively would count as one university course. The Australian Computer Society were short one speaker at their 2018 Canberra Conference, so with 12 hours notice I presented on this at the conference (it went okay). Now I need to work out what is in the three micro-credentials proposed: 1. Delivery, 2. Assessment, and 3. Design. These were abstracted from the Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA):

SFIA Category Skills on Teaching
Subcategory Skill Code Levels

1. Delivery

The SFIA Learning delivery skill is what I would call simply "teaching":
"The transfer of business and/or technical skills and knowledge and the promotion of professional attitudes in order to facilitate learning and development. Uses a range of techniques, resources and media (which might include eLearning, on-line virtual environments, self-assessment, peer-assisted learning, simulation, and other current methods)."

From Learning delivery, SFIA version 7, 2018.
This is defined at SFIA levels three to six. The lowest level looks most appropriate for a beginner, as it is about the doing of the teaching:
"Delivers learning activities to a variety of audiences. Teaches, instructs, trains students/learners in order to develop knowledge, techniques and skills using appropriate methods, tools, online environments, equipment and materials. Oversees students/learners in performing practical activities and work, advising and assisting where necessary. Provides detailed instruction where necessary and responds to questions, seeking advice in exceptional conditions beyond own experience. Assists with the development of examples and case study material for use within pre-defined learning material."

From Learning delivery, Level 3, SFIA version 7, 2018.

2. Assessment

The SFIA Competency assessment skill may cause some confusion for university academics. The term "competency" is usually used for vocational education, where students are pass/fail assessed as to if they can do a small specific task. University assessment is usually of a broader range of skills, with multiple grades (Pass, Credit, Distinction ...) or numbers allocated. However, the description of the SFIA skill doesn't seem to be limited to the former:
"The assessment of knowledge, skills and behaviours by any means whether formal or informal against frameworks such as SFIA. The evaluation, selection, adoption and adaptation of assessment methods, tools, and techniques based on the context of the assessment and how the results of the assessment are to be used. The evaluation of learning or educational activities against defined skills/competency development outcomes."

From Competency assessment, SFIA version 7, 2018.
Here the Level 5 skill looks most comprehensive:
"Provides advice and guidance on the selection, adoption and adaption of appropriate assessment methods, tools and techniques based on the context of the assessment and how the results of the assessment are to be used. Manages execution of skill/competency assessments to ensure they deliver the required outcomes with acceptable quality. Ensures assessments follow ethical, legal and regulatory requirements. Manages reviews of the benefits and value of assessment methods and tools. Identifies and recommends improvements to assessment methods and tools. Assesses the effectiveness of learning or educational activities based on the achievement of skill/competency development targets."

From Competency assessment, Level 5, SFIA version 7, 2018.

4. Design

The SFIA Learning design and development skill is less problematic:
"The specification, design, creation, packaging and maintenance of materials and resources for use in learning and development in the workplace or in compulsory, further or higher education. Typically involves the assimilation of information from existing sources, selection and re-presentation in a form suitable to the intended purpose and audience. Includes instructional design, content development, configuration and testing of learning environments, and use of appropriate current technologies such as audio, video, simulation and assessment. May include third party accreditation."
The Level 4 definition looks most appropriate:
"Specifies the content and structure of learning and development materials. Takes responsibility for design, creation, packaging and maintenance and manages development to deliver agreed outcomes. Where required, designs, configures and tests learning environments, including creation of simulated data, and replication of external systems, interfaces, and assessment systems. Secures external accreditations as appropriate."

From Learning design and development, Level 4, SFIA version 7, 2018.
Skill management Learning delivery ETDL --3456-

LEDA --3456-

Learning design and development TMCR ---456-

No comments:

Post a Comment